Blog Posts

Oh! The places you’ll go….. Richmond Arts in the Park

I spent a great two days laughing, demonstrating and telling stories about the origin of my paper art items at Richmond’s Arts in the Park.  This is a national juried show and a Richmond tradition at Byrd Park the first week-end of every May.  This event is huge and I worked hard and feel like a huge success.

Red Tent Arts in the Park

Red Tent Arts in the Park

Photos of my red tent show you some of the items and shoppers; the shade tree is great and adds to the atmosphere of a fantastic outdoor week-end.  Much of my success was due to my friends O’Neda and Penny who helped both days with all the hard parts – organizing, selling and packing up.  Woooo, that packing is not fun at all!  But the other parts of the 2 days were dynamite!

Shade Tree

Shade Tree

Richmonders are proud of their city and show it – I sold several RVA’s.

RVA 1927 Esso Map

RVA 1927 Esso Map

RVA VFAM

RVA VMFA

RVA Steam Punk

RVA Steam Punk

This is my 1st attempt at Steam Punk: each letter has metal items – many from the area.  The V is special because there are Civil War bullet parts found in the area by our son.  I did sell another Steam Punk RVA because it had metal bicycle charms – a passion of the future owner and the logo from Fine Foods of Virginia . His grandmother – the buyer –  worked across the street from FFV factory and smelled the aroma of baking cookies for many years.  All the personal stories made the week-end. (My Uncle Ray worked for FFV when I was a kid.)

A new item this spring are Book Hooks.  I reinforced each book with wood on the back before screwing in metal coat hooks or knobs.  These are useful and original.

Book Hook Comic Encyclopedia

Book Hook Comic Encyclopedia

Narnia Book Hook

Narnia Book Hook

Blue Cook  Book Hook

Blue Cook Book Hook

After helping with the original tent set-up and unpacking, Heather brought Madden to check-out the show.  Here is Madden in pig tails wearing a Harley shirt from Joe!  She’s my doll.

Madden and  me

Madden and me

Being called the artist is very humbling; who knew this would be a characteristic I would proudly wear?

Humbling and exciting; so many ideas!  It’s great to create and share.

Leave a Reply

